Loading Events

« All Events

CAE Book Club: The Bridal Chair

May 18, 2022 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 7 pm
The Bridal Chair by Gloria Goldreich

“In prose as painterly and evocative as Chagall’s own dazzling brushstrokes, Gloria Goldreich finely evokes one of the most significant masters of modern art through the discerning eyes of [his] loyally protective daughter.”—Cynthia Ozick, award-winning author of Foreign Bodies

An exquisite, haunting exploration of the complex mind of Marc Chagall, and the artist’s famous chair, through the eyes of his daughter during World War II—perfect for fans of Mrs. Poe and The Paris Wife

Beautiful Ida Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father’s controlling gaze. But, her newfound independence is cut short by the chaos of World War II. In Nazi-occupied Paris, her father’s status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, but his devotion to his art blinds him to their danger.

When Ida falls in love and Chagall angrily paints an empty wedding chair in response, she faces an impossible choice: Does she fight to escape her father’s shadow entirely, or abandon her ambitions to save Chagall from the peril in Paris, his enemies, and himself?

Brimming with historic personalities from WWII Europe, America and Israel, The Bridal Chair is a stunning portrait of love, fortitude, and the sharp divide between art and real life.

Zoom link for 5/18 book club at 7 pm: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83731273503

Details

Date:
May 18, 2022
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

ZOOM

Organizer

Center for the Arts Evergreen